Check Your Heart.

The Lord has been having me work on some unforgiveness and bitterness in my heart that I didn’t recognize was there. It took this time of immense pressure and change to bring it all to the surface. Makes me think of how many recipes on the stove call for you to “bring it to a boil” then simmer. Well, here I am. My heart was brought to a boil, and now in the simmer, I get to choose what stays and what goes.

I see many around me dealing with the same thing. The Lord doesn’t waste time, and he doesn’t miss opportunities. This quarantine season of the unknown has become a perfect opportunity to allow our hearts to be refined.

“Fire tests the purity of silver and gold, but the Lord tests the heart.”
‭‭Proverbs‬ ‭17:3‬ ‭NLT‬‬

In my friends, my family, I see heartaches covered by time being brought to the surface. False identities and lies being tested and each person given an opportunity- what do you believe?

In this season, I see an invitation to check your heart. What irritability has been brought out in you? Are you fearful? Are you angry? Are you isolating (more than just your body)? Who have you written off? Who is on your mind? Did you dream something?

All of these things are bubble clues to let you know the boil is happening or coming. Listen to Holy Spirit and let him refine you and get the ugly stuff out. And if it’s monumental, let me remind you. There is a real heaven and a real hell. Both exist right now. Hell is life without Jesus and then an eternity without him in pain and suffering in a terrible place. Heaven is to live in a daily relationship with him and then go to him where he has prepared a wonderful eternity together. Weigh your options and evaluate the narrative of your thoughts. Each decision is to be brought to the light of Jesus. Do. You. Believe.

@jenniesallen

Published by bravebluebird

I'm a wife, mom, and somebody who loves Jesus.

Leave a comment