Prayer of Faith. 

I’ve slacked on writing, as my baby girl had an 8 day long vomiting stretch that kept us in craziness. She’s feeling better today, praise God!!


I’ve been in this conversation with God about certain things that I am believing for. They aren’t small or easy…and it’s been months to years to over a decade for some of these prayers. 

This sense of unrest in the waiting that exist between seeing your prayers fulfilled and believing for them is a never ending journey for all of us. As new things come along that we pray for, we have to reaffirm our core and what we truly believe. Or we live complacent and just let it happen. 

My friend Matt posted a devotional from a beloved Pastor in our area, and it put words around this struggle I’ve been dealing with. 

“Jesus said the enemy comes to steal, kill, and destroy everything he can in our lives. But that’s not our real problem. Our problem is that we don’t get tired of it enough to do something about it…

I don’t think we realize the exceeding greatness of His power that has been given to us. Is anyone sick and tired enough to put a stop to the destructive forces in their life?

-Pastor David Berkheimer

I love this and yet argue with this at the same time. I have never given up in prayer for these things. I have fasted, I have dreamed with God for solutions, I have sought Him. But I believe there’s a desperation (in a strength and not a weakness sense of the word) and a zeal that Pastor David was referring to, and it’s something God is drawing up out of me. It’s more than just your day by day hopes, it’s Hope put into action. Changing your vocabulary to match your belief. Changing your attitude to be one of gratefulness. 

I remember Pastor David praying over my dad, who has been paralyzed for 24 years, and saying that he wasn’t begging God for healing, but instead he was coming into agreement and pure faith that God would do what He promises He’ll do for us when we call to Him: heal us. Jesus prayed, but moreso just repeated what The Father was already saying over someone. 

So today I’m contemplating all the ways I can believe with more than words, but put shape and flesh around it before it even happens. 

I believe my dad and Tiff will be healed and will sport earthly bodies that scream the goodness and majesty of our great God. 

I believe my husband will be blessed with a career he enjoys and provides more than enough for us. 

I believe so many things…and now I have to act like it. 

“Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition (definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God. And God’s peace [shall be yours, that tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and being content with its earthly lot of whatever sort that is, that peace] which transcends all understanding shall garrison and mount guard over your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. 

(Here’s the action, the zeal:)

For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. Practice what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and model your way of living on it, and the God of peace (of untroubled, undisturbed well-being) will be with you.”

‭‭Philippians‬ ‭4:6-9‬ ‭AMP‬‬

I’d love to pray with you, leave me a comment, even if you don’t want to specify your request, I’ll lift you up in prayer this week!

Published by bravebluebird

I'm a wife, mom, and somebody who loves Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Prayer of Faith. 

  1. The things I am believing BIG for God to do in my life:
    1. I will be ideal weight and healthy physically and spiritually
    2. Our blended family will develope a closer bond
    3. Total healing of my TMJ and jaw and teeth pain
    4. My Ex husband Carl and his wife Bonnie and their son Jake will find a church and get involved and salvation for Jake and they would all have an active relationship with Christ
    5. Healing for my brother Joe who is homeless, an alcoholic and mental issues

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment